The School of Achievement came into existence as a result of the shared vision and dedication of individuals and institutions that recognised that a special intervention was needed to assist children with learning impairments.

A former Minister of Education and Training, Dr. Cruywagen, envisaged a school dedicated to the provision of specialised remedial education for learners with specific learning needs. This vision initiated the establishment of the school. The School of Achievement was formally established in 1980, under the auspices of the Germiston Cripples Care Association - then chaired by Mr Tom Jones, who also chaired the Chaired, the first Governing Body of the school.

The first principal, Mr Ludie Heath, together with a team of dedicated staff and a highly committed Parent/Teachers Association under the chairmanship of Mr Denis Peens, worked tirelessly to secure their own school complex. After a trying period in the dilapidated buildings of the Goedehoop School and much hardship, the drive, tenacity and faith of these members produced results. The new school complex was officially inaugurated in 1990. Since then the school has grown rapidly in all respects.


Ludie Heath (1980-1995)

Mr Ludie Heath was appointed as the school principal of the first Government Remedial School in South Africa. The name of the school was School of Achievement. The school was situated on the grounds of the old Goede Hoop School at Railway Street, Germiston.

Lizette Matthews (1996-2003)

Mrs Lizette Matthews was appointed as the second principal in October 1996. Her leadership was focussed on democratic, participative management. 1996-2003 was a time of change and transformation in the education system. Empowerment and training of staff received attention to ensure professionalism and educational effectiveness.

Tinus du Preez (2003- Present)

Mr Tinus du Preez joined the staff of the School of Achievement in 1984 as a mathematics teacher in the High School. He formed part of the united bond of staff, parents and learners that placed the School of Achievement on the education map as the first school for specific learning disabled learners. Between 1990-2003 he worked as an educational psychologist within the education system.